

# Joint IGORR 18 / IAEA Workshop 3-7 December 2017, Sydney Australia

### Programme Committee

#### Chair

Lubi Dimitrovski (ANSTO-Australia)

#### Co-Chair

Mark Summerfield (ANSTO-Australia)

#### **IGORR Chair**

Gilles Bignan (CEA-France)

#### IAEA Scientific Secretary

David Sears (IAEA)

## Host country Coordinator

Jillian Taylforth (ANSTO-Australia)







### **Call for Abstracts**

The 18<sup>th</sup> IGORR Conference organised in collaboration with the IAEA (through an embedded IAEA Workshop on Safety Reassessment of Research Reactors in Light of the Lessons Learned from the Fukushima Daiichi Accident, J7-TR-54790) will be hosted by ANSTO, from 3 to 7 December 2017 in Sydney with a technical tour of the Lucas Heights facility of ANSTO.

The joint IGORR18/IAEA Workshop Programme Committee is calling for both oral and poster presentations in the following topical areas of Research Reactors (RRs):

**IAEA workshop topics:** new safety requirement addressing feedback from the Fukushima Daiichi accident, results of safety reassessments, regulatory aspects of safety reassessments, application of the graded approach, implementation of findings and results of safety and operational improvementss, feedback and experience in applying SRS No.80.

**Safety:** issues related to safety of reactor facility, staff and the environment, changes to regulation, public acceptance.

### Ageing Management, Modernization and Refurbishment

**New RR projects:** plans and construction updates of new RRs; lessons learned from feasibility studies, building and operating new RRs.

**International cooperation, networks and coalitions:** good practices and lessons learned.

**Operations and Maintenance:** experiences during RR operation and maintenance

**Utilization:** products and services, utilization experience and good practices in the field of research & development, education & training and industrial applications, strategic planning.

**Radio-Isotopes production:** production of medical and industrial radioisotopes.

**Irradiation/transmutation technology:** irradiation and post irradiation examination of materials and fuels; irradiation of silicon ingots and gem stones.

**Innovative Methods in RR Analysis and Design:** neutronics/thermal-hydraulics calculations and experiments; methods and tools for RR core analysis & design; nuclear safety assessment methods for RRs.

**Fuel:** development and qualification of new RR fuels, in-core fuel management and safety, spent fuel storage, corrosion and degradation, fuel cycle related issues.

**Education and Training:** RR operator training and qualification, interface and interaction with academia and nuclear utilities, public education.



# Joint IGORR 18 / IAEA Workshop 3-7 December 2017, Sydney Australia

Programme Abstract Review

Committee The abstracts received will be reviewed under the auspices of the Joint

IGORR18/IAEA Workshop Programme Committee.

Chair
Lubi Dimitrovski
Instructions for Authors and Important Dates

(ANSTO-Australia)

By 20 June 2017 submit your abstracts

By **15 September 2017** notification to authors By **31 October 2017** submit your full papers

By 17 November 2017 submit your presentations and/or posters

By 17 November 2017 register for conference

All documentation should be uploaded and submitted electronically (see below for web site and e-mail address). Detailed instructions for authors, including templates for abstract, full paper and posters, can be downloaded in the conference website (or

requested from the Secretariat).

**Publication Policy** 

The Conference proceedings will be published on the IGORR website www.igorr.com.

**Secretariat** 

Please do not hesitate to contact the IGORR18/IAEA Workshop Secretariat if you

have any questions:

 Jillian Taylforth (ANSTO)
 Katie Pawsey (ANSTO)
 Shirley Johnson (ANSTO)

 Tel: +61 2 9717 9180
 Tel: +61 2 9717 9438
 Tel: +61 2 9717 9223

Fax: +61 2 9717 7139

Email: igorr2017@ansto.gov.au

Website: www.ansto.gov.au/events/igorr2017

**International Committee** 

Mark Summerfield (ANSTO-Australia) Hoan-Sung Jung (KAERI-Korea)

Ayman Hawari (NCSU-USA)

Lin-Wen Hu (MIT-USA)

John Bumgardner (INL-USA)

Tim Powers (ORNL-USA)

Robert Williams (NIST-USA)

Herman Blauman (CNEA-Argentina)

Nestor Di Lorenzo (INVAP-Argentina)

Gilles Bignan (CEA-France)

Claude Pascal (AREVA-TA-France)

Danas Ridikas (IAEA-Austria)

Steven Van Dyck (SCK.CEN-Belgium)

Heiko Gerstenberg (TUM-Germany)

Christopher Heysel (McMaster University-Canada)

Takeshi Manuo (JAEA-Japan)

Ke Guotu (CIAE-China)

Xinxin Lu (INET-China)

Alexander Tuzov (ROSATOM-Russia) Khalifeh Abu-Saleem (JAEC-Jordan)



Co-Chair

Mark Summerfield

(ANSTO-Australia)

**IGORR Chair** 

Gilles Bignan

IAEA Scientific Secretary

(CEA-France)

**David Sears** 

**Host country** 

Coordinator

Jillian Taylforth

(ANSTO-Australia)

(IAEA)



